Trustee Election

Official Election Results

Preliminary Election Results (Final election results will verified by the Chief Election Officer no later than October 24th, 2018 - 4 pm)

Declaration of Acclamation or Election by Voting - September 24th @ 4 PM

Notice of Election by Voting  (Rural Electors of TEA I may vote at the District of Chetwynd Office Voting Location on both Advance Voting Days and General Voting Day.)

(Note:  City of Dawson Creek will issue Notice of Election for TEA III - Dawson Creek)

Mail Ballot Voting Information

Declaration of Candidates - September 14th, 2018 at 4 PM.  (Note: Declaration of Election by Voting/Acclamation will be done at 4PM on Monday, September 24, 2018.)  Candidates and election results will posted to Civic Info BC.

Chad Anderson - TEA IV

Andrea Smith - TEA I

Nicole Soontiens - TEA IV

Darcy Heartt - TEA IV

Tamara Ziemer - TEA III

Kim Erickson - TEA IV

Jessica Fairful - TEA I

Becky (Rebecca) Borton - TEA I

Jennifer Lalonde - TEA III

Angelina Schurmann - TEA III

Crystal Hillton - TEA I

Travis Jones - TEA IV

Roxanne Gulick - TEA II

School Trustees are elected to a 4 year term. Key Dates for candidates to keep in mind.

The School District works in partnership with the local municipalities and regional district to conduct school trustee elections. 

School District No.59 is divided into the following four electroal areas (Electoral Area Map): 

Electoral Area I (Chetwynd and surrounding area including Moberly Lake - 2 trustees)

Electoral Area II (Tumbler Ridge - 1 trustee)

Electoral Area III (Dawson Creek-within municipal boundary - 2 trustees)

Electoral Area IV (Rural areas surrounding Dawson Creek, including Pouce Coupe, Devereaux, McLeod, Parkland, and Colony Schools - 2 trustees)

NOTE:  Previous Electoral Areas IV and V are now combined and will be named Area IV.  Two trustees will be elected to represent this area.

Notice of Nomination

SD59 Candidate Nomination Package

What is a School Trustee? 

Click on the links below for more information:

SD59 Trustee Brochure-2018

Foundational Principles of Responsible Conduct

Thinking of Running for Office (video series):

British Columbia School Trustee Association (BCSTA)

The Guide for 2018 School Trustee Candidates (BCSTA)

Candidates Guide to Local Election in BC (Ministry of Education)

Guide to Local Elections Campaign Financing (Elections BC)

 BC Ministry of Education

CivcInfo BC (publication of election results and other election data)

Local Elections FAQ's

As of May 29, 2014, Elections BC (EBC) will now oversee all aspects of of local elections related to campaign financing and election advertising.  EBC will assume responsibility for managing campaign financing disclosure requirements, investigations, and enforcement of campaign financing and election advertising provisions. Please go to the Elections BC website for valuable information about campaign financing and advertising rules.  New rules will be enforced for the 2018 General Election regarding campaign financing.

The Elections BC local elections campaign financing team is available to answer questions by phone at 1-855-952-0280 (toll-free) or by email at  Check out the Frequently Asked Questions for common questions by candidates.


Are you eligible to vote?

To be eligible to vote in a school trustee election, a person must qualify either as a resident elector or a non-resident property elector, and must be registered or deemed to be registered as an elector of the trustee electoral area [School Act, section 39 (1)(a) and (c)].

In order to vote as a resident elector, a person must be all of the following:

  • a Canadian citizen;
  • 18 years of age or older on general voting day;
  • a resident of BC for at least six (6) months immediately before the time of voting;
  • a resident of the trustee electoral area for at least 30 days immediately before the time of voting; and
  • not disqualified by law from voting.

All residents who meet these requirements can vote. It does not matter whether you rent or own your home.

If you own property within School District boundaries but live somewhere else in BC, you can also vote in trustee elections as a non-resident property elector.  In this case, a person can vote, as long as the following are met:

  • a Canadian citizen;
  • 18 years of age or older on general voting day;
  • a resident of BC for at least six (6) months immediately before the time of voting;
  • a registered owner of real property in the trustee electoral area, for at least thirty (30) days immediately before the time of voting; and
  • not be a resident elector in any other trustee electoral area in the District.

Non-resident property electors can vote only once, regardless of the number of properties they own. If there is more than one registered owner of a property, only one of those individuals may, with the written consent of the majority of the other owners, register as a non-resident property elector.


If you are interested in becoming a school trustee and would like more information about the Board of Education of School District No.59 or election information please contact:

Richell Schwartz, Deputy Election Officer, 250-782-8571, ext. 217

Erase Bullying

Erase is all about building safe and caring school communities. This includes empowering students, parents, educators and the community partners who support them to get help with challenges, report concerns to schools, and learn about complex issues facing students.

More Details

© School District 59.   All rights reserved.


Posted Route Status
9 hours ago Dawson Creek On Schedule
9 hours ago Chetwynd On Schedule



In consideration of the health and safety of our employees and community members, StrongStart Programs across School District No. 59 are not providing in-class or in-program face-to-face services at this time.  Our indoor playgrounds and play areas are closed.  Please connect with your StrongStart’s Facebook page as well as the School District No. 59 website ( for updated information.