South Peace Distributed Learning - Resources

STUDENT RESOURCES

Getting Started with DL Checklist

How Do I Navigate My Course?

How Do I Get Help If I Need It?

Forms

Credit Information

Staff of South Peace Distributed Learning 

 

Getting Started with DL Checklist

1.  Decide on a course that you’d like to sign up for.  We offer a variety of courses and the details for all of them can be found through the links on the home page.  

2.  ‘How to Enroll’ will walk you through the steps for getting registered.

3.  ‘Registration Form’ will ask you some pertinent information that we require to get you started.  

4.  Once you’re registered, you’ll be able to access the course through the ‘Student Login’ link on the home page with your user name and password.  Instructions for how to do this are found in ‘How to Enroll’.  

5.  Take some time to look at the student resources and policies to familiarize yourself with resources available to you and what is expected of you.  

 

How Do I Navigate My Course?

Your course homepage should be similar to the one shown below for the course called 'Forestry and Natural Resources'.  The 'Home' or 'Modules' tabs should show you the course in its entirety.  Basically, start at the beginning and work your way through the course.  Please pay special attention to course outlines and information regarding submitting assignments and how you'll be graded.  These are helpful resources!  The 'Assignments' tab will show you a summary of all the assignments that you'll find throughout the course and the 'Grades' tab will show your marks to date. 

 

How Do I Get Help If I Need It?

You should see an "INBOX" option on the left column of your course.  Select it, then select the course you're working on and click on the new message icon.  You want to direct your questions to the teacher that is assigned to your course.  If you are unsure about who that is, check in the Resources for Students section.  The teacher will be in contact with you as soon as they can.  In many cases, you can continue working in the course until they get back to you.

 

Credit Information

Upon successfully completing each course our students will receive 4 credits, with the exception of some English courses that are currently 2 credits.  These credits go towards graduation and courses do appear on transcripts.   

Students should be sure to check with the school counsellor regarding what the credits can be applied to.  For example, not all science courses will give a science credit! 

 

Forms

Course Withdrawal

 

Staff Of SPDL (2017-18)

Here is a list of the SPDL staff, the school where they work and the DL courses that they are looking after.

Emily Rivard (erivard@sd59.bc.ca)   DCSS – Physical Education

Gus Ruiter (gruiter@sd59.bc.ca)     CSS – Communications

Jan Proulx (jproulx@sd59.bc.ca)     TRSS – Fashion and Interior Design, Forensic Science, Psychology

Jonathan Eagles (joeagles@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – Work Experience 

Josh Kurjata (jkurjata@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – Science, Science & Tech, Earth Science, Chemistry, Biology, Secondary School Apprenticeship, Biotechnology

Kathy Shoemaker (kshoemaker@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – Accounting, Forestry and Natural Resources, Health Sciences, Hospitality and Tourism, Marine Science, Vet Science

Liz Pearce (epearce@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – Math, Physics

Robert Eichelberger (reichelberger@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS - Planning

Ryan McGuire (rmcguire@sd59.bc.ca)     TRSS – Digital Media Arts

Shawn Roberts (sroberts@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – English 10, 11, 12, Creative Writing 12

Wilf Herve (wherve@sd59.bc.ca)     DCSS – Anthropology, Comparative Civilizations, Criminology, Entrepreneurship, Family Studies, International Business, Restaurant Management, Social Studies, Sociology, Sports and Entertainment Marketing

 

Back to the top


 

Erase Bullying

Erase is all about building safe and caring school communities. This includes empowering students, parents, educators and the community partners who support them to get help with challenges, report concerns to schools, and learn about complex issues facing students.

More Details

placeholder

Contact Us

Telephone Numbers
Fax Numbers
Address
10808 - 15th Street
Dawson Creek, BC V1G 3Z3
Canada
© School District 59.   All rights reserved.
Posted Route Status
8 hours ago Dawson Creek On Schedule
8 hours ago Chetwynd On Schedule

The StrongStart programs are running as scheduled.